Protected Classes for Part D drug coverage

Changes that were set to take effect in 2022 would eliminate protected classes of drugs (where the plan has to cover most all of the drugs of that type) and only required plans to cover one drug in each therapeutic class. These changes have been rolled back and the current rules will stand:

Under current statute and regulation, Medicare Part D plans are required to cover two drugs in each therapeutic class, with the exception of six protected classes, of which plans must cover substantially all drugs. The six protected classes are antipsychotics, anticonvulsants, antidepressants, antiretrovirals, antineoplastics, and immunosuppressants for organ transplant.

Policy & Medicine

Published by Rane Family Insurance

Meet Casey I serve the needs of Medicare eligible individuals as they evaluate their Medicare Health Plan options. When I am not on an appointment, you will find me at the home office with assistants Elvis and Biggie: my cat-shaped paper weights. I enjoy gardening, and visiting the farmers market.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: